fbpx

With the latest update to their app, Uber is now able to track your location even with the application running in the background. Before they only collected information while the app was open, but the new update asks for constant access, meaning that Uber is potentially tracking you before, during, and after your ride.

According to an Uber spokesman, they’re not exactly doing that, but the way device permissions are structured, they had to ask for constant access so that they could collect slightly more data than before. The data will be used to make pick-ups and drop-offs go smoother by helping drivers select the best location for each. Oftentimes the app can’t pinpoint an exact location so it’s up to the driver and the rider to successfully find each during pick-up. If the app has a better idea of where you are, the driver will have an easier time finding you, supposedly.

The arguments for it make sense, but of course increased data collection is always unappealing, and a privacy advocacy group filed a Federal Trade Commission complaint against Uber when it first began collecting data, but the company responded by saying they’re getting consent from users and properly explaining the changes in their methods.

If you’re going to use Uber, be aware that you can turn off location sharing and manually enter an address to be picked up at, despite the app saying otherwise.

Share This With The World!
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •