Did you know that Gmail has the ability to recall an email that you just sent? You might not, as the feature has been tucked away in the experimental labs feature for six years, but Google is finally rolling it out and making it easily accessible to all Gmail users.

The “undo send” feature can be activated in Gmail’s protection settings and it will delay the delivery of emails from 5 to 30 seconds, depending on what you set it at. Within that window, if you happen to realize a mistake in the email you just sent, you can cancel the delivery.

While this sounds like a convenient feature, I think in reality it will only come in handy in very specific situations. Still, in those particular situations it could prove to be a lifesaver. Another benefit is that it provides a layer of comfort for paranoid people like myself. Whenever I send emails to clients, I triple-check the emails before hitting the send button, and even then I wonder if I made a mistake. In that light, this feature could be more of a curse than a blessing, because it could lead to a lot of cancelled emails that turned out to be false alarms.

Ah, the life of a neurotic.

Share This With The World!
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •